Spielwarenmesse: Women in Toys honour industry leaders

Choose language

Spielwarenmesse® worldwide


Women in Toys honour industry leaders

17. February 2015 11:42 h:

Sesame Workshop, Amazon and Disney execs among honourees

By www.giftsanddec.com

More than a dozen women in the toy industry were honoured on February 15 at the 11th Annual Wonder Women in Toys (WIT), Licensing and Entertainment Awards Dinner. Hosted by WIT the gala awarded winners from more than 40 distinguished nominees from around the world.

WIT also presented Special Honouree Awards to executives From Sesame Workshop, Amazon.com, and Disney Consumer Products.

  • Ann Kearns, vice president, global toys, Sesame Workshop, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for 42 years of service at Sesame Workshop.
  • Eva Lorenz, general manager for toys and games, Amazon.com received the Retailer of the Year Award.
  • Elaine Carovilla, director, Disney Consumer Products, received the People’s Choice Award. For the past seven years, Carovilla has worked Disney Consumer Products’ toy business, launching Hannah Montana, High School Musical, Disney Fairies business, and the juggernaut, Frozen brands, while concurrently working to more than triple the Disney Princess business.

Lyla Black of Lyla Tov Monsters picked up the inaugural Wonder Girl Award, which recognizes young toy entrepreneurs. She designed her first Monster as a gift for her father when she was just 3years old. Now, at the age of 8, she is WIT’s youngest member, and the creative force behind Lyla Tov (“Good Night” in Hebrew) Monsters, choosing fabrics, picking ribbons and deciding which Monsters need ears and which get horns.

This year’s Wonder Woman Award winners include:

  • Manufacturer of the Year: Irene Li, The Bridge Direct Public Relations & Social Media – Julie Duffy, Vice President, Global Communications, Hasbro, Inc.
  • Socially Responsibility: Deborah Dicochea, Mattel Children’s Foundation and Corporate Philanthropy, Mattel Inc.
  • Licensing and Entertainment: Samantha Freeman and Angela Santomero, Out of the Blue Enterprises
  • Designer /Inventor: Ditte Bruun Pedersen, Future Lab, The LEGO Group
  • Marketing and Advertising: Tamara Stewart, Moose Toys
  • Rising Star: Bettina Cheng and Alice Brooks, Roominate

Read more



Stay informed with trends and developments of the toy market. Register for one of our newsletter.